Which countries are in the G7 and what is its purpose?


The world’s heads of state and government came together for the recent G7 summit in Germany.

Boris Johnson has joined US President Joe Biden, French President Emmanuel Macron and Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau to discuss pressing issues including the war in Ukraine and the global food crisis.


Register to our Mazic News Today Newsletter

For almost 50 years, the G7 has been a mainstay of world politics, where selected countries meet to discuss the latest developments in international politics.

But what exactly is the purpose of the group? And which countries are members of the fourm?

Britain, the US and France are all members of the G7. (Image credit: Getty Images)

What is the G7?

The G7 is a forum for the world’s largest so-called “advanced” economies.


The name comes from “Group of Seven” – an indication of the number of members within the group.

Established in 1975, the G7 was formed to allow larger countries to discuss major developments in world politics.


Leaders also focus on global efforts in other areas such as climate change, trade, economics and security.

Regular meetings and an annual summit are held to allow countries to meet to discuss such matters.


Which countries are in the G7?

The countries included in the group are:

  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

Although China is the world’s largest economy and has the largest population, it has never been a member of this group.

This is due to the country’s low per capita weather rate, meaning it doesn’t qualify as an “advanced economy.”


The EU is also not an official member of the group, but takes part in the annual G7 summit.

Has Russia ever been in the G7?


Russia was actually a member of the group and joined in 1998.

The group became temporarily the “G8”.


However, they were removed from the neighborhood in 2014 after the country annexed the Crimean Peninsula.

Member states ruled the country out after convening an emergency meeting in The Hague in response to the annexation.


Where is this year’s G7 summit taking place?

The presidency of the G7 rotates between member states, and the country holding the presidency is hosting this year’s summit.


Germany currently holds the Council Presidency, which means that the summit will be hosted by Chancellor Olaf Scholz.

It should take place in Bavaria.


Summit meetings are scheduled a year in advance, in line with the rotating presidency.

The 2023 summit will take place in Japan, while the 2024 summit will take place in Italy.


When is the G7 Summit 2022?

This year’s summit will take place from June 26th to 28th.


The annual gathering is typically held from late spring to early summer each year.