Where will thunder and lightning hit? Met Office thunderstorm warning explained


Thunderstorms will end the current UK heatwave.

A yellow hot temperature warning is in place, with 35C expected in some places.


Parts of England could get hotter than Caribbean forecasters have warned.

Most popular

A drought is declared for some parts of the hardest-hit areas of the country after the driest July on record.


The heat wave ends with thunderstorms on Sunday (14 August) and Monday (15 August).

Here’s everything you need to know:


When does the thunderstorm warning apply?

A thunderstorm warning is in effect for Northern Ireland and Scotland from Sunday noon to Monday 6 a.m.


A second broader warning will then apply from 6am to 11.59pm Monday, covering Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales and parts of England.

Lightning strikes over a harbor during a thunderstorm. (Credit: Dan Kitwood/Getty Images)

What does the Met Office warning say?


In the first warning from Sunday, the Met Office says: “While some locations remain dry, thunderstorms will develop Sunday and Sunday night which may cause disruption in places.

“There is a small chance that homes and businesses will be flooded quickly and some buildings will be damaged by flooding, lightning, hail or strong winds.


“In the event of flooding or lightning strikes, there may be delays and some cancellations of train and bus services.

Thunderstorm warnings in place. Image: Met Office/National World

“Splashing water and sudden flooding could result in difficult driving conditions and some road closures.


“There is a small possibility that power outages could occur and other services could be down for some homes and businesses.”

For the second warning, which is in place for Monday, the Met Office adds: “While some locations remain dry, thunderstorms are likely to develop on Monday bringing with them localized heavy rain and possible disruption.”


What is the thunderstorm warning for?

The Met Office has issued a yellow weather warning for these locations:

  • Angus
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Dundee
  • Falkirk
  • pipe
  • Perth and Kinross
  • Stirling
  • derbies
  • Derbyshire
  • leicester
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • nottingham
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Rutland
  • Bedford
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Central Bedfordshire
  • Hertfordshire
  • Peterborough
  • Aberdeen
  • Aberdeenshire
  • moray eel

London & South East England

  • Bracknell Forest
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Hampshire
  • Isle of Wight
  • Milton Keynes
  • Oxfordshire
  • Portsmouth
  • reading
  • swamp
  • southampton
  • West Berkshire
  • Windsor and Maidenhead
  • Wokingham
  • darlington
  • durham
  • Gateshead
  • Hartlepool
  • Newcastle upon Tyne
  • North Tyneside
  • Northumberland
  • South Tyneside
  • Stockton-on-Tees
  • sunderland
  • Blackburn with Darwen
  • Blackpool
  • Cheshire East
  • Cheshire West and Chester
  • Cumbria
  • Wait
  • Lancashire
  • Merseyside
  • Warrington
  • County Antrim
  • County Armagh
  • county below
  • County Fermanagh
  • County Londonderry
  • County Tyrone

SW Scotland, Lothian Borders

  • Dumfries and Galloway
  • East Lothian
  • Edinburgh
  • Midloth Council
  • Scottish Borders
  • West Lothian
  • Bath and North East Somerset
  • Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole
  • Bristol
  • Cornwall
  • devonian
  • Dorset
  • Gloucestershire
  • Isles of Scilly
  • North Somerset
  • Plymouth
  • Somerset
  • South Gloucestershire
  • swindon
  • torbay
  • Wiltshire
  • Argyll and Bute
  • East Ayrshire
  • East Dunbartonshire
  • East Renfrewshire
  • Glasgow
  • North Ayrshire
  • North Lanarkshire
  • Renfrewshire
  • South Ayrshire
  • South Lanarkshire
  • West Dunbartonshire
  • Blaenau Gwent
  • Bridge
  • Caerphilly
  • cardiff
  • Carmarthenshire
  • Ceredigion
  • Conwy
  • Denbighshire
  • flint
  • Gwynedd
  • Isle of Anglesey
  • Merthyr Tydfil
  • Monmouthshire
  • Next to Port Talbot
  • Newport
  • Pembrokeshire
  • Powys
  • Rhondda Cynon Taf
  • Swan Lake
  • peat
  • Glamorgan Valley
  • Wrexham
  • Herefordshire
  • Shropshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Stoke on Trent
  • Telford and Wrekin
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands metropolitan area
  • Worcestershire
  • East Riding of Yorkshire
  • North Lincolnshire
  • North Yorkshire
  • South Yorkshire
  • West Yorkshire
  • York