When does the next WSL start?


Chelsea are aiming for a fourth straight Women’s Super League title next season

The triumph of the England women’s team was watched by 87,192 fans at Wembley Stadium, a UEFA tournament record all-time.


Excitement for women’s football has reached unprecedented levels in England with many fans eagerly awaiting the start of the Women’s Super League season.

All but three of the Lionesses play in England’s top domestic league, known since 2011 as the Women’s Super League. Here’s everything you need to know about the 2022/23 season and how to watch it.

Emma Hayes is aiming for a fourth consecutive title with Chelsea (Getty Images)

When does the 2022/23 Women’s Super League start?

The 2022/23 season starts on Friday, September 9, 2022 and lasts until Sunday, May 28, 2023.


The start date is a week later than the previous campaign due to international matches taking place the previous weekend.

Who will compete in the 2022/23 Women’s Super League?


Confirmed as the 2021/22 FA Women’s Championship Champions, Liverpool have been promoted to the Women’s Super League for the first time in two seasons.

Birmingham were among the founding members of the inaugural Women’s Super League in 2011 but were relegated from the top flight for the first time in 20 years.


Here’s a full list of teams competing in the top division:

  • arsenal
  • AstonVilla
  • Brighton & Hove Albion
  • Chelsea
  • everton
  • Leicester City
  • Liverpool
  • Manchester City
  • Manchester United
  • reading
  • Tottenham Hotspur
  • West Ham United

2022/23 Women’s Super League opening weekend

  • Brighton & Hove Albion vs Aston Villa
  • Chelsea vs West Ham United
  • Everton versus Leicester
  • Manchester City vs Arsenal
  • Reading vs Liverpool
  • Tottenham Hotspur versus Manchester United

Who are the favorites to win the 2022 Women’s Super League?

After three consecutive title defenses, it’s hard to beat Chelsea to the league title. While both Arsenal and Manchester City have given them a hard time in recent seasons, Emma Hayes’ side have always come out on top.


Chelsea have strengthened in the transfer window with the signings of Kadeisha Buchanan and Eve Persitt. They’re also blessed with world-class attacking skills, with last year’s WSL top scorer Sam Kerr leading the line.

Arsenal have a talented squad that includes English Euro winners Leah Williamson and Beth Mead and they will look to add to their trophies in this year’s campaign after guiding Chelsea to their final game of the season last year.


How to watch the Women’s Super League

The Women’s Super League is televised on Sky Sports and the BBC. Matches not selected for live TV coverage are available for fans to watch The FA Player.


Previous winners of the Women’s Super League

Since the formation of the new league in 2011, four different teams have been champions of the Women’s Super League. In the last decade Chelsea, Manchester City, Arsenal and Liverpool have won the title.

  • 2011 – Armory
  • 2012 – Armory
  • 2013 – Liverpool
  • 2014 – Liverpool
  • 2015 – Chelsea FC
  • 2016 – Manchester City
  • 2017 – Chelsea FC
  • 2017/2018 – Chelsea FC
  • 2018/2019 – Arsenal FC
  • 2019/2020 – Chelsea FC
  • 2020/2021 – Chelsea FC
  • 2021/2022 – Chelsea FC

Who do England’s lionesses play for?

Leah Williamson helped England win the European Championship (Getty Images)
  • Ellie Roebuck-Manchester City
  • Mary Earps – Manchester United
  • Hannah Hampton – Aston Villa
  • Lucy Bronze – Barcelona
  • Rachel Daly Houston Dash
  • Millie BrightChelsea
  • Alex Greenwood – Manchester City
  • Lotte Wuebben-Moy – Arsenal
  • Demi Stokes – Manchester City
  • Jess Carter-Chelsea
  • Leah Williamson (Captain) – Arsenal
  • Keira Walsh-Manchester City
  • Jill Scott – Aston Villa
  • Georgia Stanway – Bayern Munich
  • Fran Kirby-Chelsea
  • Lauren Hanf – Manchester City
  • Ellen White-Manchester City
  • Beth Mead Arsenal
  • Nikita Parris – Arsenal
  • Alessia Russo – Manchester United
  • Bethany England – Chelsea
  • Ella Toone – Manchester United
  • Chloe Kelly – Manchester City